AI Visibility Platforms Ranked by Cost Per Tracked Response in 2026

Sticker prices hide the real cost of AI visibility tracking. Here is how to calculate cost per tracked response, what the published numbers look like, and where Promptwatch, Peec, Profound and others land.

Key takeaways

  • Cost per tracked response is price divided by (prompts x engines x runs per month). Most vendors don't publish a response count, so you have to build it yourself.
  • Promptwatch is one of the few vendors that publishes responses directly: about $0.0158 per response on Essential, $0.0136 on Professional and $0.0138 on Business.
  • A response on one engine is not worth the same as a response on another. Per Promptwatch Data, ChatGPT cites about 5 sources per web-search answer, while Google AI Overviews and Perplexity cite about 10.
  • Cheap entry plans often track one engine or a handful of prompts. Cost per prompt looks fine until you ask what you can actually see.
  • Prices below come from vendor pages and third-party roundups, and some may be stale. Confirm on each vendor's pricing page before you buy.

Why cost per tracked response is the right yardstick

Most AI visibility roundups sort tools by monthly price. That tells you almost nothing. A $50 plan that tracks 3 engines on a small prompt set and a $500 plan that tracks 10 engines on hundreds of prompts are not the same product at different sizes. They are different units of work.

A tracked response is one prompt run on one engine, once. Everything a visibility tool reports (mentions, citations, share of voice, sentiment) is computed from a pile of those. So the cheapest way to compare vendors is to ask how many responses you get for the money.

The formula is simple:

cost per response = monthly price / (prompts x engines x runs per month)

The trouble is that almost nobody publishes the last two numbers. You get a prompt count and a price, and the rest is a footnote or a sales call. I'd treat that as a mild red flag in itself.

What a response actually buys you

Before ranking anything, two caveats that change how you read the numbers.

First, engines return different amounts of citation data. Promptwatch Data on average sources per response shows ChatGPT citing about 5 sources per web-search answer, Google AI Overviews about 10, and Perplexity almost exactly 10 every day. So a response on Perplexity carries roughly twice the citation evidence of one on ChatGPT. Cost per response is not cost per citation observed.

Second, fan-out depth changes what a response contains, not what you pay. Promptwatch's query fanout data measured about 2.15 web searches per ChatGPT response in early December 2025, easing to about 1.84 by early March 2026. Vendors charge per response regardless.

There is also the question of how the response was collected. Tools that scrape the real user interface of ChatGPT or Gemini capture what a person would see, including shopping carousels and source lists. API-only tools can differ from that. Cheaper plans are more likely to lean on APIs, so keep it in mind when two prices look suspiciously far apart.

Published pricing at a glance

Here is what I could pull from vendor pages and recent roundups. Response counts are only listed where the vendor states them. Everything else is a per-prompt figure with the engine count noted.

PlatformEntry pricePromptsEnginesPublished responsesCost per prompt
Promptwatch Essential$95/mo50All models6,000about $1.90
Promptwatch Professional$245/mo150All models18,000about $1.63
Promptwatch Business$579/mo350All models42,000about $1.65
Peec AI Starter$95/mo50Not statedNot published$1.90
Peec AI Pro$245/mo100Not statedNot published$2.45
Peec AI Advanced$495/mo350Not statedNot publishedabout $1.41
Profound Starter$99/mo50ChatGPT onlyNot published$1.98
Profound Growth$399/mo1003 enginesNot published$3.99
Otterly.AIfrom $29/moVariesVariesNot publishedVaries
Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit$99/mo per domainVariesVariesNot publishedVaries
Ahrefs Brand Radar$699/mo for all platformsVariesIncludes Copilot and GrokNot publishedVaries

Peec and Profound figures come from third-party roundups (Business.com, Zapier and others), so treat them as approximate. Zapier lists Peec from $95/month, and Business.com lists the $95, $245 and $495 tiers.

Ranking by cost per tracked response

A strict ranking needs response counts, and only one vendor in this set publishes them. So I'll rank honestly in two layers: what is directly calculable, and what you have to estimate.

Directly calculable: Promptwatch

Promptwatch states a "Responses" allowance on every paid plan, which makes this the easiest platform to price. Essential works out to about $0.0158 per response, Professional about $0.0136, and Business about $0.0138. The sweet spot on pure unit cost is Professional, with Business close behind.

Favicon of Promptwatch

Promptwatch

Track and improve your AI search visibility
View more
Screenshot of Promptwatch website

What matters more is what those responses cover. Even the $95 Essential plan includes all models (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google, Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, DeepSeek), country-level tracking, and MCP and API access. Professional adds content writing and refresh, a knowledge base and Agent Analytics (crawler logs). Business adds state and city tracking, Shopping Insights, Ads Radar and audit logs, with up to hourly tracking. The 6,000 responses on 50 prompts is 120 responses per prompt per month, so you are getting repeated runs rather than one snapshot.

The free Explore plan is ChatGPT only with 10 prompts, which is fine for a sanity check. Confirm current numbers at promptwatch.com/pricing.

Estimable: Peec AI

Peec has a similar price ladder. At $95 for 50 prompts it matches Promptwatch Essential on cost per prompt ($1.90). At $495 for 350 prompts it is about $1.41 per prompt, cheaper than Promptwatch Business at about $1.65 on that one dimension. The catch is the missing denominator. If Peec runs fewer engines or less often, the cost per response is higher. If it runs more, lower. Ask.

Favicon of Peec AI

Peec AI

AI visibility tracking with smart suggestions
View more
Screenshot of Peec AI website

Estimable: Profound

Profound's published entry tier is $99 for 50 prompts on ChatGPT only. Growth is $399 for 100 prompts across ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews. Spread across three engines, the Growth plan is about $1.33 per prompt-engine pair, which is competitive, but you pay $3.99 per prompt to get there. Enterprise is custom and covers all 10 engines Profound tracks. Profound has strong enterprise credentials (SOC 2 Type II, GA4 attribution, a $96M Series C reported by its own blog), so the premium may be justified for large teams. For a mid-size brand, it is a harder cost case.

Favicon of Profound

Profound

Enterprise AI search visibility and analytics
View more
Screenshot of Profound website

Cheap entry points: Otterly.AI, ZipTie and Airefs

Zapier lists Otterly from $29/month and ZipTie from about $35.63/month. These are the lowest sticker prices in the market. They are good for a single brand with a small prompt set. Whether they hold up on cost per response depends on prompts and engines included at that tier, which the roundups don't state.

Favicon of Otterly.AI

Otterly.AI

Affordable AI brand visibility monitoring
View more
Screenshot of Otterly.AI website
Favicon of ZipTie

ZipTie

Focused AI search visibility tracking tool
View more
Screenshot of ZipTie website
Favicon of Airefs

Airefs

Affordable AI search visibility tracking
View more
Screenshot of Airefs website

SEO suite add-ons: Semrush and Ahrefs

Semrush sells its AI Visibility toolkit at $99/month per domain, or bundled in Semrush One from $199/month. Ahrefs Brand Radar needs about $699/month for all supported AI platforms, which makes it one of the pricier options in Style Factory's roundup, although it is the only one in that comparison to track Microsoft Copilot and Grok. If you already live in these suites, the bundle can pencil out. If you only want AI tracking, the per-response economics are usually worse than a dedicated tool.

Favicon of Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

SEO and AI visibility in one platform
View more
Favicon of Ahrefs Brand Radar

Ahrefs Brand Radar

Track your brand across AI search engines
View more
Screenshot of Ahrefs Brand Radar website

Enterprise: Petra Labs, Yext Scout and Similarweb

Zapier reports Petra Labs from $15,000/month, with annual totals of $250,000 to $600,000. Yext Scout and Similarweb are priced by request. At those levels, cost per response is rarely the deciding factor. Integration and support are.

Yext Scout

AI search competitive intelligence for enterprise brands
View more

Similarweb AI Brand Visibility

Digital intelligence suite with AI visibility tracking
View more

Price bands: where the market clusters

BandMonthly priceTypical buyerWhat you usually get
Entry$29 to $100Solo brand, test runSmall prompt set, limited engines
Mid$200 to $600Growing brand, small agency100 to 350 prompts, multi-engine
Upper mid$600 to $1,200Mid-market teamWider coverage, more seats (Rank Monster cites AthenaHQ and SE Ranking here)
Enterprise$1,500+Large brandsCustom volume, SSO, support

OptimizeGEO's own FAQ argues that dedicated GEO platforms in the $499 to $2,000 range deliver more depth than SEO suite add-ons at similar prices. That's a vendor's opinion, but it matches what the unit economics suggest.

Zapier's roundup of AI visibility tools with pricing, useful as a cross-check on entry-level costs

How to calculate it for your own shortlist

Don't trust a ranking, including this one, until you have run the numbers with your own assumptions.

  1. Count your prompts. Be realistic. A single product line with five personas and three intents is already 15 to 30 prompts.
  2. Pick your engines. At minimum, ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews. Add Copilot, Claude or Meta AI if your buyers use them.
  3. Pick a frequency. Daily is the common baseline. Weekly cuts cost roughly 7x but misses volatility.
  4. Multiply. Prompts x engines x runs per month is your required response volume.
  5. Divide the plan price by that volume. If the vendor won't tell you how many responses are included, assume the worst case.

A worked example: 50 prompts on 4 engines, daily, is 50 x 4 x 30 = 6,000 responses. That happens to match the response allowance on Promptwatch Essential at $95, or about $0.016 each. If a competitor's $95 plan covers the same 50 prompts on a single engine, your effective cost per response is four times higher for equivalent coverage.

What cost per response leaves out

Unit cost is a good first filter, but a poor final decision. Three things it ignores:

  • Whether the tool tells you what to do next. A cheap tracker that stops at a dashboard leaves you paying again for content, audits and attribution somewhere else. Promptwatch bundles content gap analysis, the Content Agent (Business and above), crawler logs and visitor analytics on top of tracking, which is the reason its unit price is more interesting than the raw number.
  • Whether you can attribute traffic. Seeing a mention is not the same as seeing revenue. Look for AI crawler logs and visitor analytics, not just visibility scores.
  • Whether the data is real. If a vendor quietly uses API calls that differ from what users see, cheap responses may be less useful responses.

On that last point, Promptwatch Data is a handy reference for how much AI answers shift over time, since tracked behaviour like citation counts and fan-outs changes month to month. A prompt set you tune once will drift.

Which one to pick

If you are...Start withWhy
A single brand testing the waterPromptwatch Explore (free) or Otterly.AILowest commitment
A growing brand that wants tracking and contentPromptwatch Essential or ProfessionalPublished response counts, all models included
A team that cares most about prompt count per dollarPeec AI AdvancedAbout $1.41 per prompt at 350 prompts, verify engines
A large enterprise with SOC 2 needsProfound EnterpriseSecurity posture and breadth
Already on SemrushSemrush AI toolkitBundle value
An agencyPromptwatch Agency plans or PeecCheck client seats and white-label

There are over a hundred tools in this category now. If you want to keep browsing, the GEO software directory at bestgeosoftware.com is a reasonable next stop, and ai-rank-tools.com covers rank trackers specifically.

Final take

The market's pricing is deliberately hard to compare. Most vendors sell by the plan and hide the volume. Until that changes, the honest approach is to demand the denominator: prompts, engines and run frequency. Among the tools I could verify, Promptwatch is the easiest to price, with response counts printed on the page and a cost that sits near $0.014 to $0.016 per response across paid tiers. Peec is a close competitor on cost per prompt, and Profound makes sense when enterprise requirements outweigh the unit price. Get quotes in writing, ask for response counts, and recompute before you sign.

Share:

AI Search Visibility Tools

© 2026 AI Search Visibility Tools · The best AI search visibility tools compared · RSS

AI Search Visibility Tools is an affiliate review site. When you click links to vendors or buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you.

AI Search Visibility Tools is a review website based on user reviews on Reddit and G2, and on publicly available information. We keep everything as up to date as possible, but pricing and features can change. Always confirm the details with the vendor before purchasing.

AI Visibility Platforms Ranked by Cost Per Tracked Response in 2026 – AI Search Visibility Tools